Overview#

Priority Synchronization was introduced in eDirectory 8.8 introduces a new synchronization method in addition to the method.

Priority Synchronization is used when you need to sync your critical data immediately and does wait for normal EDirectory Synchronization.

Priority sync does not use, but is complimentary to the normal EDirectory Synchronization process in eDirectory.

Unlike EDirectory Synchronization, in priority sync, the changes are not put in the Change Cache before synchronizing them across the servers. This makes priority sync faster than normal EDirectory Synchronization.

Priority sync is enabled by default.

Priority Synchronization Configuration#

To sync modifications to critical data through priority sync, the following steps are used:
  • Specify the number of threads for priority sync.
  • Specify the priority sync queue size.
  • Create and define a priority sync policy by identifying the critical attributes that you want to sync as priority.
  • Apply the priority sync policy to one or more partitions.

The Priority Synchronization process is designed to sync only the modifications to attributes that you designate as critical.

If you create a new object that has the critical attributes, the created object is not synchronized with other servers. Priority Synchronization maintains the object transaction model. So, if noncritical data is modified and is not yet synchronized, and if the critical data is changed for the same entry, the noncritical data along with critical data is synchronized.

An Example#

For example, a user has the following attributes: Income, Employee No, Address, and Cube No. You identify Income and Address as critical attributes. Employee No and Cube No are modified but these modifications are not yet synchronized.

When the modifications to Income and Address are synchronized through priority sync, Employee No and Cube No also get synchronized, though they are not identified as critical data.

More Information#

There might be more information for this subject on one of the following:

Add new attachment

Only authorized users are allowed to upload new attachments.
« This page (revision-2) was last changed on 06-Jun-2013 15:56 by jim